A trip to the Azuero Peninsula, where there are arthropods everywhere!

Although perhaps not the particular species I’m looking for. And don’t worry–that crab who fell landed perfectly fine and scuttled away without any difficulty! After a three-hour drive in the rain, with more rain heading in our direction, I decided that it probably wasn’t the best time to look for vegetarian spiders and instead we went to the beach. My family and to a spot called “Playa Toro”, which means “Bull Beach” in English, although I honestly have no idea how it got that name.

Our rather long trip from La Chorrera (near Panama City) to the "Interior."
Our rather long trip from La Chorrera (near Panama City) to the “Interior.”
My daughter smiling in the rain outside of La Chorrera this morning.
My daughter smiling in the rain outside of La Chorrera this morning.
10557377_10204611654476616_3685494529026565968_n
And still smiling once we reached Bull Beach (minus one shoe).

What I do know is that there were hermit crabs crawling everywhere, small fish darting around in tidal pools, and another species of crab that blended in with the sand almost perfectly (see below and try to pick it out):

There were also quite a few butterflies when we headed into the town of Pedasí, which is apparently becoming a popular vacation spot. Thankfully, we were able to find an affordable place to stay, at the “Hostal Doña Maria.” If my iPhoto wasn’t continuing to quit on me every time I try to open it, I’d upload more pictures, but I think that I’m going to have to finish this post for now.

Leave a Reply

