Two lessons I’ve learned…

Ah, síTodos los senderos son de cemento.” 

Oh, yes. All of the paths are concrete.

That was the first lesson I learned, which is to not assume that everyone knows what they’re talking about. Maybe he was referring to the major paths, or the paths that connected the eating area to the cabins. Whatever it was, there definitely were some paths without cement out there, especially as I went deeper into the forest. And since it had rained for most of the morning, I had a slipping, sliding good time.

That sure doesn't look like cement to me!
That sure doesn’t look like cement to me!
The bats on the roof should've warned me.
The bats on the roof should’ve said something.
Or maybe the gecko should've warned me last night!
Or maybe the gecko should’ve warned me last night!

The second lesson that I learned is to follow the rules posted on signs. Somebody put them there for a reason. When visitors and researchers are required to wear closed shoes or boots, it’s probably a good idea. In my case, the reason came clear when I set out in sandals, which I figured would be sturdy enough. But no, I was wrong. I could’ve saved myself a lot of mud and grime (and one pretty spectacular wipeout) if I’d only followed what the darn sign said. Next time, I’m going to pay attention, especially here:

A sign on the entrance bridge.
A sign on the entrance bridge.

Leave a Reply

